Permission groups

Avatar
by Adriana Oliveira

Warning

Modification of permissions can have serious implications for your organisation. Please only proceed if you are confident with what you are doing. If you have any questions or hesitations, please contact Assemble support.

Assemble is driven by the permissions its users hold. However, rather than giving each user or each role specific permissions, Assemble utilises permission groups.

Permission groups basically allow you to set up logical permission groupings for your organisation and assign them to role profiles. Roles profiles, in turn, are assigned to users. So, what features and functionalities users have access to is determined by the permission group assigned to the role(s) the user holds.

On default, Assemble will have the following permission groups configured:

Administrator
This is for users who will have the ability to change settings of your Assemble. It should only be assigned to a handful of users.
Manager
This is for users who manage other users, such as volunteers, but do not need full administrator access.
Volunteer
This is usually aimed at users who are classed as volunteers without any supervisory functions within the organisation.

Please note that the above permission groups are the default ones in the system and you can create/edit as needed. However, as best practise we recommend to keep to a minimum to avoid over complexity. 

You cannot delete a permission group that is in use. However, you can edit its permission.

Create new permission group 

To add a new permission group, press the "Add group" button and then provide the following information:

Name
The name of the permission group. Try to keep this as short as possible. For example: "Volunteer - Shop Supervisor"
Description
This is where you can describe the permission group in more detail. For example: "This is for volunteers who manage other volunteers within their shops".
Enable two factor authentication (2FA).
If this is ticked, then users with this permission group have to utilise two factor authentication.
Load default permission set.
If you tick this box, you will be shown a list of existing permission groups for you to choose from, which will allow you to copy all the permissions of that group to your new role.

Edit permissions

To edit the permissions assigned to permission group, select the "Edit permissions" on the "Actions" drop-down next to the desired permission group. This will load up the permissions that are available on Assemble where you can tick/untick permissions as necessary.

For further information, please read the permissions article.

Edit permission group

This allows you edit the name and description of a permission group and whether or not two factor authentication is enforced. Please note that if two factor authentication is enforced by Assemble, then it will not be possible to untick this option.

Delete permission group

You can only delete a permission group that has not been assigned to any role profiles.


  Required permission(s)

  • Organisation Management: Manage permission groups