Tasks

Avatar
by Bulent Yazici

Open tasks

Assemble features a powerful and intuitive tasks module that allows users to create tasks for themselves and/or others to perform. This enables organisations to not only ensure that their users remain engaged with them but also to be able to accurately record and report on their activities. 

A user who has been assigned a task has the ability to record multiple activities they've carried out in order to complete that task. These activities can be on or span several days with no limits to the number of activities recorded. 

If the category of the task has required outcomes, then this information will also be collated at the end of the task.

Within the tasks section, depending on your permissions, you may be able to:

  • Be assigned tasks
  • See a list of unassigned tasks and take ownership
  • Create a task for your self and/or others to carry out 

The tasks section is broken into multiple sub-sections:

All tasks

This will show all open tasks fall into one of the following states:

  1. Unassigned tasks that you are eligible to assign to yourself.
  2. Tasks that have been assigned to you.
  3. Tasks that you are the owner of, regardless of who it's assigned to.

Unassigned tasks

This will show all open and unassigned tasks that you are eligible to assign to yourself.

My tasks

This will show all open tasks that have been assigned to you or tasks that you are the owner of, regardless of who they are assigned to.

Take a task (assign to self)

To assign a task to yourself, which is also known as taking a task, click on any unassigned task that you are eligible to see. Once you have read the details of the task and are happy that you will be able to carry out the task, press the "Assign to me" button on the bottom right of the task details.

Please be aware that the task owner will be notified that you have taken the task.

Record activities

Once you have been assigned a task or taken one, you will be able to record activities against it, thus giving you the ability to accurately record your hours/effort to complete this task. This is particularly useful if the task requires you to carry out multiple activities over number of days. To add an activity, just press the "Add activity" button and follow the on screen instructions.

All your past activities for this task will be shown to you below the "Add activity" button. They will also be visible in the Activities section.

Leave a task

If you are no longer able to complete the task, press the "Leave task" button and you will no longer be notified about this task. All your recorded activities will be retained within the task. Once you leave a task, the task owner will be automatically notified.

Complete a task

When you have completed the task, you can indicate this by pressing the "Complete" button. This will prompt you to enter your final activity for the task. Also, if the category of the task you are completing has outcomes that need to be recorded, you will be asked to provide this information. Please be aware that if the outcomes are compulsory, you will not be able to complete the task until you have provided this information.

Add new task 

If you have permissions to do so, you can create tasks for yourself and/or assign to others or open it to teams of users for one of them to take and complete.

To add a new task, press the "Add new task" button and you will be asked for the following basic details:

  • Category (same categories used in activities)
  • Priority (low, normal, high, urgent)
  • Due by / due on
  • Task title
  • Owner (defaults to the user setting up the task)

In addition to the above required information, a user with the correct permissions can also enter the following information when setting up a task:

  • Further description of the task
  • Location (specific address)
  • Team(s)1
  • Role(s)1
  • Assignee

1If team(s) and/or role(s) are set against a task, then only users within those team(s) and/or role(s) will see that task. If a task has not been assigned to a specific user or have any teams/roles assigned to it, then any user who has the ability see tasks will be able to see and assign it to themselves. 

tasks.png

When you create the task, you can choose to assign it to yourself, someone specific or have it open to a group of users by selecting which team or role you want to limit the task to. If you do not select any teams or roles, then the task will be open to anyone who has the ability to perform tasks. Alternatively, a task can be assigned directly to a user. 

Please be aware that on default, the user setting up the task will be the Owner of the task. However, the owner can be set to anyone else who has the ability to create a task. Owners of a task receive notifications about the task whenever someone is assigned the task, leaves or completes the task. They also receive periodic notifications about a task that is about to expire etc.

When a task due date has elapsed, the task itself is not automatically removed from the system. It is up to the task owner to cancel or extend a task that has not been completed.