Managing applications

Last Updated:
Avatar
by Adriana Oliveira

View all applications from the dashboard 

Warning

Applications created by supervisors cannot be cleared until the applicant has completed the application.

If you have permission1 to manage applications you will see the application widget on your dashboard. The widget keeps you informed about how many applicants you have at each stage of the process and selecting any of them will redirect you to the application listing page with the selected filter applied.

This widget is affected by "Me" "My team" and "All" filters at the top of the Dashboard page.

Screen_Shot_2018-08-06_at_10.12.08.png

You’ll also receive notifications when new applications are made against an opportunity you are managing and if an applicant has moved to the next stage of the process.

As default, the application listing page will sort applications by last updated and you will only see applications for opportunities that you manage or supervise. Click on ALL to applications for all opportunities below you in the team structure.

You can also use the filters and the sorting option to refine your search.

Service Level Agreements

To help you prioritise applications, the coloured dot next to applicants name indicates an SLA failure that requires some action from the application manager. For example, Maria is at the Checks stage so it could be that the references have been received last week and you need to read them to make a decision on them.Screen_Shot_2018-08-02_at_15.22.34.png

Default SLA(s) timeframe for each stage are:

Referee without an email address - SLA will be flagged as soon as the application hits the check stage as you will need to take a phone reference.

Stage Ideal (days) Max (days)
Application 2 4
Selection 7 14
Checks 21 28
Clearence 2 3

Once an application reaches the ideal time frame set to application current stage, a yellow (warning) dot will be flagged. The dot will change to red (danger) once the application has reached the max timeframe, and no action has been taken.

The application

All the decisions about an applicant are made in the application screen.

You can see the role details at the top-right corner, including role manager and a link to the role profile.

The Overview provides you with a detailed progress map of the application. You will automatically be taken to the relevant section when you click on a box in any of the stages.

Different roles may have additional checks or processes to complete. Assemble will guide you through each step and stage, and if a step is not required for the specific opportunity, it will move the applicant through automatically.

E.g. if no parental consent is required, then Assemble will automatically mark it as completed.

Screen_Shot_2018-08-02_at_15.12.48.png

You can keep track of the application changes on the application history section.

Actions

At the very top of the application under the applicant's name, you will find the actions button. Click on it to reveal what actions you can perform to an application depending on the permissions your role holds.

After the application is cleared, the action button will only show the "View applicant record" option.

Send auto-close email

If you are waiting for certain documents/information from an applicant and they have not responded in due course, you can set the system to send them a reminder email and then automatically close within X weeks if they do not respond.

If you set the application to close automatically, a banner will appear on the application screen above the "Role details" stating the date it will close with the option to cancel the closure. And on the application listing page, there will also be a yellow warning marker next to applications which will automatically close.

Move application3

You can move an application to another available opportunity for the same role profile. You cannot transfer an application to an opportunity created from a different role profile as there may be different questions, checks or even minimum ages.

Close application2

Applicants might inform you that they want to withdraw the application, therefore you should close it.

At each stage in the process you're presented with the option to close an application due to the applicant not being selected, withdrawing their application or, in exceptionally rare cases, being unsuitable to volunteer in any capacity in the organisation. With the relevant permission you can also close applications at any point using this Actions option.

Closing applications will send an email to the applicant; the email can be customised.

Turn off application emails

Turning emails off stops an applicant receiving system emails and notifications. Typically this is used when overriding the recruitment process to allow an application to bypass a stage or be reset to the beginning of a stage. Automatic emails may be triggered during this and could be confusing to the applicant

If you forget to turn emails back on again, you will be warned when an email is due to be sent but cannot be.

 

Notes & touchpoints

During the clearing process, you might have some information that needs to be kept on the user record after the applicant is cleared to start the volunteering role.

Notes or touchpoint added to the application will show on the "User details" page, but if they are added from user/applicant details page then it won't show on the application screen. 

 

Let's go through the application stages

 

ApplicationDetailsSelectionChecksClearance

At this stage, you can see the details of the applicant and their answers to any application questions, custom fields (set to be visible on the application form) attributes and referee details. If you have the relevant permission6, you can also edit the form on behalf of the applicant.

You won't be able to amend applicant details after the application has passed the first stage.

What if an application is stuck

If an application you manage is stuck at any stage you can override (reset or bypass) any actions necessary to allow you to move forward with the application. Also, you can re-open closed applications. Please note you must have the permission5 to perform any of these actions and should always follow your organisation's rules for when this is allowed.

ResetBypassRe-open

At any stage, including after it's been cleared or closed, an application can be reset to the current or previous stage.

If the application is cleared, the role will be removed from the volunteer until the application is cleared again.

To reset the application click the override decision at the stage you want to reset.

Contacting applicants (chat)

Applicants don't have access to Assemble until they get cleared to start their volunteer role; therefore you won't be able to send them a message from the message centre. However, the applicant's portal has the same Contact messaging functionality that is on teh application screen for you. This is not live chat but applicants will be alerted in their email to a new message being received and can contact you in the same way.

During the application process, the system will automatically send some emails to applicants. If they reply to any of those emails, the opportunity manager will receive the message.

All messages sent to the applicant either through the chat or by replying to an applicant’s email will be sent to the applicant’s personal email address.

You must have permission to send external emails to reply to applicants. Click here for more info on sending external emails.

Applications are part of the volunteer's record, and they are accessible at any time from the user details, roles & responsibilities tab, application section.


  Required permission(s)

  • Supervisory permission:
    • Manage applications1
    • Close application at any stage2
    • Move an application from one opportunity to another3
    • Toggle application emails4
    • Override application actions5
    • Edit application6
    • View applicant user record7
    • Log in as another user8