Consents

Avatar
by Adriana Oliveira

Introduction

Assemble allows organisations to collect consents from applicants and users on an ongoing basis.

They can be one of the following types:

Consent type Example Example values
Radio I agree with the use of my image for marketing materials Yes/No
Single checkbox You can do something with my data Single checkbox
Multiple checkboxes I want to receive marketing information via Email, post, SMS, carrier pigeon etc.

Consents can be marked as compulsory which means that they have to answer the consent question by selecting one of the options. If you've made a single checkbox as optional, it basically means your users will have to agree to the consent before they can proceed.

Consents will be displayed on the last step of application forms for potential volunteers applying for a new opportunity and once they have applied, within the applicants portal where they can change their consent options. For existing users, they will be shown on the user details page, under the Password & Privacy tab where they can modify their consents.

If a single checkbox consent was set up and marked as compulsory, users will not be able to uncheck it once they have applied or are existing users.

The system will log the date and time the consents have been given or updated and these will be visible to managers.

Consents for specific roles

Consents cannot be limited to specific roles. They are global, therefore, apply to all applicants/users of the system. If you would like to ask questions to your users based on their role, you can use custom fields (attributes).

Terms and conditions

Consents should not be used for asking your users to agree with your terms and conditions or any other type of document. For those, please use the Terms setting.

Create new consent

To create a new consent question, drag and drop the appropriate type from the right menu to the middle section. Add the consent question and the answer values if necessary. 

Expiry (months)

You can set up an expiry duration for consents in months. At the end of the duration, from the date they supplied the consent, users who log in to Assemble will be asked to reconfirm their consents. If you leave this field as 0, they will not be forced to reconfirm their consent but they can change it anytime they wish.

Compulsory 

If a new consent is added to the system and is marked as compulsory, all users will be invited to provide the answer for the newly added consent before they can proceed to apply or if existing users, use the system.

Editing/deleting consent

To edit/delete a consent, click on the consent to see its details.

To delete a consent, press the "Remove" button. Please be aware that if you delete a consent, you will lose any previous consents given by your users.


  Required permission(s)

  • Organisation management: Manage organisation terms and consents