If you are the event manager or have the permission to manage any event in your organisation, you can edit details, manage attachments, organisers, training and attendees. You can send a message to all or selected attendees and send more invitations.
- Attendee view - Your personal event view as an attendee.
- Manager view - Where you can manage all aspect of the event
Organising an event with training
You can add training to an event by going to the event details page and clicking "Manage training".
If a user is removed from the "Accepted" list when the event has finished, the completion date for the training associated with the event will be removed from this module for them.
If a user is added to the event after the session is completed, their record will automatically be updated with the training.
Before the date of the event, you can freely add/ remove modules which will then be completed on a users profile the day after the event. After the event, you can add a training module retrospectively and this will be immediately added to the attendees, however, modifying the existing training will not make any changes to historical attendance.
Organising an event with recruitment
Once an event with recruitment is created you can manage certain parts of recruitment from the event as well as from the one-off opportunity view.
From the event, you can change the event organisers, event schedule, event name or event location and this will also update the opportunity. Also, you can only perform the actions: Edit sub location or time slots, Edit attachments, Duplicate and Delete from the event manager view.
When managing event attendance from the event view you can allocate and cancel invited users to/ from specific sessions, similarly within the one-off opportunity you can “manage attendees”, actions in either of these views will automatically update the other to reflect the updated information. If a user is placed onto a “waiting list”, their opportunity attendance will be deleted if they were previously attending.
Managing invitations and attendees
Within this section, you will find Invitations and locations.
In the invitations section of the event, you can keep track of teams and individuals who have been invited, their response and take various actions on the invited users. Users found in the “Rejected” list have declined the event and therefore will not attend any sessions.
By clicking on the user details icon ( ) you can allocate/ update the specific user’s attendance to a session or alternatively select multiple invitees via the “+” buttons and click “Allocate timeslots” to assign users en masse. You can also select multiple invitees to “Message to”.
When a user accepts an event invitation and is accepted into that specific timeslot, a green tick will appear next to their name in the invited list and the entry will be updated on their calendar. A yellow dot will appear if they've selected a timeslot but have yet to be confirmed as attending (due to being on the waiting list).
( Example of a user’s details for the event)
From the locations section, you can view, add and edit all details of the different sessions, this includes tabs for the different locations, each session details, the timeslots and session attendees list.
The timeslot you are viewing is highlighted in green and the bar across the bottom gives you an indication of that session’s attendance, you can then further check and manage an event’s attendance via the accepted and waiting lists.
The waiting list is used if your event requires approval for attendance (by the organiser) or if an invitee accepts when the timeslot's capacity has been reached.
From the accepted or waiting list you can select users to “Move to” or message as required.
Cancelling an event
You can cancel an event at any time by clicking on CANCEL EVENT at the top of the Event Management screen. This will not send a notification to attendees. You should send a message explaining the cancellation to all attendees, or use another means of communication. You can do this through the message attendees option in the Event Management view.
To view cancelled events, click on the DISPLAY ALL filter in the Events listing and select the Show Cancelled checkbox.
When you cancel an event, any activities that have been added to volunteers' records will be deleted.
Non-attendance at events
Activities (hours) and training can be automatically added to the records of all attendees of an event. However, if a volunteer accepts the invitation to an event but does not attend, you can mark them as cancelled from the Accepted list within the Event Management screen. This will remove any activity or training that was automatically added for attendees of the event.
You can select multiple volunteers from the Accepted list, allowing you to cancel them in one click.
- Outcome attributes are set by the organisation.
- The event category will determine if an event does or doesn't require outcomes.
The event outcomes can be added by the event organiser and are often used as quality performance indicators. This is important information your organisation can use to make their reports and plan future events, so make sure you complete them after your event has taken place.