Tasks

Last Updated:
Avatar
by Adriana Oliveira

Assemble features a powerful and intuitive tasks module that allows users to create tasks for themselves and/or others to perform. This enables organisations not only to ensure that their users remain engaged with them but also to be able to record and report on their activities accurately. This is particularly useful in measuring the impact of volunteering in an effective, organisation-specific way.

Tasks functionalities work in the same way for all users and, as with all features in Assemble, is all down to the permission held by the user role.

Assigning tasks

When you create a task you can assign it directly to a single, named user. Alternatively you can have it as an open task. You then choose the volunteers with which role(s) or team(s) can see the task and take it to complete. Selecting both a role and team limits the eligible volunteers to those with that specific role within that specific team.

NB To make sure that only relevant users can see a task, you should always limit it by role and/or team, even if directly assigning it. If the volunteer chooses to leave the task, this further restriction will make sure that someone at the other end of the country, for example, doesn't take the task.

 

Bulk add tasks

If you have the right permission you can also create and assign a task to a group of people from the MyTeam page.  

  • After pressing create bulk tasks, each task is put in a queue. Therefore, there may be a slight delay in adding and then seeing in the task listing.
  • Each task created will be the same. However, each task will be assigned to the associated user 

Please be aware that there is no way to delete tasks that have been bulk added by accident.

Micro-volunteering tasks

When creating a task, you can tick the option to make it a micro-volunteering task. You should restrict the task by role/team in the usual way.

One task "template" will be created and all users with the matching role/team will be able to see the task and choose whether or not to take it.

When a user takes a micro-volunteering task, a new task is created for that user but the orginal task listing remains for others to see and take as well. This process will continue until the limit you have set is reached eg 500.

 

Please click here for detailed instructions on how to add and manage tasks.


Required permission(s)

  • Tasks:
    • Bulk create task
    • Assign task to others