Ending volunteer & non-volunteer role

Last Updated:
Avatar
by Adriana Oliveira

Volunteers may have one role or multiple roles. As a leisure-time activity, volunteers will frequently want to stop carrying out one or all of them, for many different reasons. Assemble enables volunteers or managers to end a volunteer's role in their record in the browser version of Assemble. The Volunteers cannot leave their role(s) via the app. However, in most cases volunteers will contact their manager direct to let them know they're leaving and the manager will initiate and complete the leaving process.

There are two stages to ending a volunteer's role: leaving the role and the leaving review form.

Starting the leaving process

Go to the Roles & Responsibilities tab on the user record and click the Leave role link. The Leave role window will open.

Screenshot_2021-11-30_at_08.57.46.png

  1. Select the role or roles that the volunteer will be leaving. The team that the role is part of is also displayed to make sure the correct role is selected.
  2. From the drop-down list of reasons, select the one that is closest to the reason for the volunteer leaving. If you're closing multiple roles with different leaving reasons, you should close them individually.
  3. Complete the question Would you like to mark volunteer_name as unsuitable for organisation_name? By default, this is set to No. You should only change this to yes if the user should not be allowed to volunteer or work for the organisation. Do not select Yes for any other reason. If in doubt, please ask your Assemble administrator.
  4. If you are not the named manager for the volunteer, you can choose to get a notification sent to them. This lets them know that the volunteer is leaving and asks them to complete the leaver's form.
  5. Click the button to Start the leaving process.
  6. The leaving form will be automatically generated, ready for completion, unless it has been turned off for a specific opportunity.

Volunteers with managerial responsibilities

Initiating the leaving process for a user who has responsibilities will display a warning message and you won’t be able to complete the leaving form until the responsibilities are removed.

Volunteers with managerial responsibilities and more than one role

The system won't determine if the role set to leave is directly associated with the responsibilities; it is up to the person initiating the process to take the necessary actions

Also, if the user is leaving all their roles and the leaving date is set for today or in the future, the system won’t block you to set the volunteer to leave the last role without transferring the responsibilities, as technically the person still has another open role.

Important

  • Leaving process won't progress to the second stage if the leaving reason is deceased.  
  • The user will be automatically set to inactive if the "leaving" role is the only open role they hold.
  • If a named manager of a role changes and there is a pending review against the role, the manager review notification will be transferred to the new manager, who should receive the actionable notification to complete it. And the old manager should no longer see the manager review notification.

Inactive users

As soon as the user has no active roles they will be automatically set as inactive, and won't have access to Assemble. Once inactive, only managers with the permission to manage inactive users will be able to find or view their record.

User with a non-volunteer role 

The process for staff who leave is more complex, particularly if they are the named manager for volunteers, applicants, opportunities, tasks or events.

Only managers with the Manage non-volunteers permission will be able to end a non-volunteer's role. Always transfer the manager’s responsibilities before setting an end date for the non-volunteer role, unless they have another manager role. Users cannot be made inactive if they still have any management responsibilities.

To end a non-volunteer role click on the row in the Roles and Responsibilities tab and set the role end date in the window.

A warning banner will appear at the top of the user details if the user is going to become inactive and still has management responsibilities ie ending the non-volunteer role will result in the user having no active roles left.

 


  Required permission(s)

  • Supervisory permissions:
    • Start leaving process 
    • Cancel leaving process