Managing applications

Avatar
by Adriana Oliveira

View all applications from the dashboard 

Warning

Applications made by supervisors cannot be cleared until the applicant had completed the application.

If you have permission1 to manage applications you will see the application widget on your dashboard. The widget keeps you informed on how many applicants you have at each stage of the process and selecting any of them will redirect you to the application listing page with the selected filter applied.

This widget is affected by "Me" "My team" and "All" filters at the top of the Dashboard page.

Screen_Shot_2018-08-06_at_10.12.08.png

You’ll also receive notifications when new applications are made against an opportunity you are managing and if an applicant has moved to the next stage of the process.

On default, the application listing page will sort applications by the last update date/time and you will only see applications for opportunities that you manage or supervise.

You can also use the filters and the sorting option to refine your search.

SLA(s)

The coloured dot next to applicants name indicates an SLA failure, therefore the application requires some action from the application manager.Screen_Shot_2018-08-02_at_15.22.34.png

Default SLA(s) timeframe for each stage are:

Referee without an email address - SLA will be flagged as soon as the application hits the check stage.

Stage Ideal (days) Max (days)
Application 2 4
Selection 7 14
Checks 21 28
Clarence 2 3

Once an application reaches the ideal time frame set to application current stage, a yellow (warning) dot will be flagged. The dot will change to red (danger) once the application has reached the max timeframe, and no action has been taken.

The application

All the decisions about an applicant are made in the application screen.

You can see the role details at the top-right corner, including role manager and a link to the role profile.

The Overview provides you with a detailed progress map of the application. You will automatically be taken to the relevant section when you select any stage.

Different roles may have additional checks or processes to complete. Assemble will guide you through each step and stage, and if a step is not required for the specific opportunity, it will move the applicant through automatically.

E.g. if no parental consent is required, then Assemble will automatically mark it as completed.

Screen_Shot_2018-08-02_at_15.12.48.png

You can keep track of the application changes on the application history section.

Actions

At the very top of the application under the applicant's name, you will find the actions button. Click on it to reveal what actions you can perform to an application depending on the permissions your role holds.

After the application is cleared, the action button will only show the "View applicant record" option.

Send auto-close email

If you are waiting for certain documents/information from an applicant and they have not responded in due course, you can set the system to send them a reminder email and then automatically close within X weeks if they do not respond.

If you set the application to close automatically, a banner will appear on the application screen above the "Role details" stating the date it will close with the option to cancel the closure. And on the application listing page, there will also be a warning marker next to applications which will automatically close.

Move application3

You can move an application to another available opportunity under the same role profile.

Close application2

Applicants might inform you that they want to withdraw the application, therefore you must close it.

You can also close applications if the applicant has not been selected or is not suitable for the role.

Closing applications with unsuitable or not selected reason will send an email to the applicant; the email can be customised.

Toggle application email

If you are the primary manager of an opportunity, you will be able to toggle emails on/off to stop or resume an applicant receiving system emails & notifications.

If you are not the primary manager of the opportunity you must have the required permission to use the toggle emails functionality.

 

Notes & touchpoints

During the clearing process, you might have some information that needs to be kept on the user record after the applicant is cleared to start the volunteering role.

Notes or touchpoint added to the application will show on the "User details" page, but if they are added from user/applicant details page then it won't show on the application screen. 

 

Let's go through the application stages

 

ApplicationUser detailsSelectionChecksClearance

At this stage, you can see the details of the applicant and their answers to any custom questions, attributes and referee details. If you have the right permission6, you can also make any amendments, if necessary, before progressing the application to the next stage.

You won't be able to amend applicant details after the application has passed the first stage.

What if an application is stuck

If an application you manage is stuck at any stage you can override (reset or bypass) any actions necessary to allow you to move forward with the application. Also, you can re-open closed applications. Please note you must have the permission5 to perform any of these actions.

ResetBypassRe-open

At any stage, including after it's been cleared or closed, an application can be reset to the current or previous stage.

If the application is cleared, the role will be removed from the volunteer until the application is cleared again.

To reset the application click the override decision at the stage you want to reset.

Contacting applicants (chat)

Applicants don't have access to Assemble until they get cleared to start their volunteer role; therefore you won't be able to send them a direct IM. However, on the application screen on the button right-hand side, there is a chat functionality you can contact them from there.

During the application process, the system will automatically send some emails to applicants. If they reply to any of those emails, the opportunity manager will get an IM and the manager can respond to it.

All messages sent to the applicant either through the chat or by replying to an applicant’s email will be sent to the applicant’s personal email address.

You must have permission to send external emails to reply to applicants. Click here for more info on sending external emails.

Applications are part of the volunteer's record, and they are accessible at any time from the user details, roles & responsibilities tab, application section.


  Required permission(s)

  • Supervisory permission:
    • Manage applications1
    • Close application at any stage2
    • Move an application from one opportunity to another3
    • Toggle application emails4
    • Override application actions5
    • Edit application6
    • View applicant user record7
    • Log in as another user8